Contact

Are you having questions regarding our institute or would you like further information regarding specific projects or activities? We look forward to your call or message.

Institute for Communication and Assessment Research

Institut für Kommunikations und Prüfungsforschung gGmbH

Wieblinger Weg 92A 
69123 Heidelberg - Germany

Institute for Communication and Assessment Research

Wieblinger Weg 92A
69123 Heidelberg
Germany

Contact

Are you having questions regarding our institute or would you like further information regarding specific projects or activities? We look forward to your call or message.

Institute for Communication and Assessment Research

Institut für Kommunikations und Prüfungsforschung gGmbH

Wieblinger Weg 92A
69123 Heidelberg - Germany
+49 (0)6221 186 7490
info@cares.institute

Institute for Communication and Assessment Research

Wieblinger Weg 92A
69123 Heidelberg
Germany

Team

Konstantin Brass
Managing Director

Already during his studies, Konstantin Brass developed the idea of improving the assessment culture through networking and resource optimisation. In 2004, he began work at the Center of Excellence for Assessment in Medicine in Heidelberg: to optimize the assessment workflow, he established a document reading system and the use of computer-assisted exams at the Medical Faculty. To facilitate the exchange and collaboration between other faculties, he designed and implemented the first version of the ItemManagementSystem (IMS). As technical director of UCAN, Konstantin Brass and his growing team developed further tools for exam preparation, follow-up and evaluation and expanded the UCAN network to more than 60 partners. Since mid-2016 he is the managing director of the Institute for Communication and Assessment Research.

Lars Feistner
Technical director

In 2008, Lars Feistner began his work at the Center of Excellence for Assessment in Medicine in Heidelberg. He immediately took responsibility for the server-side implementation of the ItemManagementSystem (IMS) and was a driving force for the relaunch of IMS2. In addition, he took over the operation of all applications and relied on open source solutions. For a long time, Lars Feistner was the contact person for all UCAN partners when it came to gaining data in or out of the IMS database. Nowadays, he has taken over the technical direction of Konstantin Brass and is working with his team on the next versions of UCAN Tools.

Jörn Heid
Software development

Since 2003, Jörn Heid has been developing assessment software, focusing in particular on resilience and legal security. He developed the CAMPUS assessment software which has been used productively at various institutions since 2004 for computer-based exams.
After joining the Center of Excellence for Assessment in Medicine in Heidelberg in March 2012, he began developing tablet-based apps such as tOSCE, tPRESENTER, tEXAM and tORAL. The student competence-based ProgressTest completes the range of assessment software for different scenarios and platforms.

Winfried Kurtz
Software development

Winfried Kurtz is working as a software developer in the UCAN team since December 2006. He developed the first version of the Examinator and worked together with his colleagues on the groundwork of the Examinator2. His focus is on the software ergonomics and user-friendliness of the ItemManagementSystem (IMS) and thus also on the front-end development. He is mentoring the German medical associations since they perform their assessments with the IMS and have formed themselves into an assessment association.

Klaus Yan
Software development

After studying Applied Computer Science, Klaus Yan began working in the UCAN team in January 2013. Initially hired as a developer, his field of activity expanded from pure programming to the assumption of technical-administrative tasks. His goal is to further optimise the development and work processes and to map a continuous integration workflow. Together with his colleagues, he develops high-quality software to meet the future technical and functional requirements of the software. His versatile interests in requirements engineering, database -, network - and server administration as well as programming and software architecture make him a "team all-rounder".

Alejandra Pérez Garcia
Software development

Alejandra Pérez has been working at the Institute for Communication and Assessment Research since March 2019. After studying IT engineering at the Instituto Tecnologico de Chihuahua II, Mexico, she mainly programmed in the scripting language PHP. Today she works with Java and EXT-JS and contributes her expertise in the further development of the ItemManagementSystem.

Eduard Laas
Technical Support and Data security

Eduard Laas discovered his fascination for computers in the mid-nineties, when he got his first computer, a Pentium I with 100MHz. After training as an IT systems salesman, he worked in several IT companies in the field of IT support and gained a wealth of experience during this time. In June 2013, Eduard Laas started his work at UCAN. His primary tasks are the acceptance and classification of the incoming fault reports by telephone and E-mail, the development of workarounds for the reported faults as well as the support and further development of the documentation. In addition, Eduard Laas is the Data Protection Officer of the Institute for Communication and Examination Research.

Kerstin Lubik
Partner Relationship Management

Kerstin Lubik is a certified management assistant and gained over nine years of experience in the preparation, execution and evaluation of various examination formats at the Medical Faculty of Heidelberg (eg Encountercards, MCQ, OSCE, MiniCEX). During this time, she has developed a great passion for the implementation and execution of OSCEs. This examination format challenges all involved persons at different levels - from the questioner to the secretary, the simulated patients and the examinee. Since Kerstin Lubik has worked for a long time as a user of the ItemManagementSystem (IMS), she knows exactly what the challenges - but also the opportunities - are and so can very well understand the needs and wishes of our partners. Since August 2017 she is responsible for Partner Relationship Management.

Saskia Egarter
Research

Since February 2019, Saskia Egarter is a research assistant at the Institute for Communication and Assessment Research and works in the field of research, scientific publication, grant applications, project management and quality assurance of examinations. Her scientific publications and international lectures substantiate her expertise and her great interest in research. In addition, she contributes her knowledge in the range of project and quality management.

Anna Mutschler
Research and Public relations

As a pedagogue, Anna Mutschler has a passion for communication processes as well as the development of competence-oriented teaching and learning processes. Since August 2016 she works as a research assistant in the team and works in various projects for medical interviewing and interprofessional communication and cooperation. In this context, she also manages the Medtalk Toolbox, an online platform that collects and prepares teaching and assessment examples of physician-patient communication and interprofessional collaboration between physicians and other health professionals. In addition to publications on these topics, Anna Mutschler also works in the field of public relations and supports her colleagues in various research areas.

Sopio Gelashvili
Project Coordinator

Since 2014, Sopio has been working as a coordinator. Her responsibilities include financial planning, accounting, personnel management, event management and organizational development.

Christian Moses
Software development and student laboratory

Christian Moses is a trained banker with additional qualification in financial assistant. After completing his training, he decided to leave the banking industry and pursue his interest in computer science. Since then he is a student of Applied Computer Science (B.Sc.) at the University of Heidelberg and works as a student assistant in the in-house student laboratory of the Institute for Coomunication and Assessment Research. Since early 2019 the institute gives young students the opportunity to gain their first work experience in the field of software development. His work focuses mainly on supporting the development of current software (e.g., Examinator3, Custodian) and optimizing internal server monitoring.

Daniel Frising
Software development and student laboratory

In January 2019, Daniel Frising began working at the Institute for Communication and Examination Research while studying Applied Computer Science (B.Sc.) at the University of Heidelberg. During high school he already began to program and participated in several open source projects. His main responsibilities are the support and development of current software (e.g. Examinator3, Custodian) as well as the visualization of internal server data.

Adrian Danisch
Software development and student laboratory

While his study of Applied Computer Science at the University of Heidelberg, Adrian Danisch is interested in his work as a tutor and computer administrator at the Mathematical Institute for Electronic Teaching, especially in the digital correction of electronically submitted exercises. Since March 2019 he works at UCAN on the authentication content at Examinator3 and Custodian.

Kontakt

Sie haben Fragen zu unserem Institut oder wünschen weitere Informationen zu einzelnen Projekten oder Aktivitäten?

Wir freuen uns auf Ihren Anruf oder Ihre Nachricht.

Institut für Kommunikations- und
Prüfungsforschung gGmbH

Wieblinger Weg 92A 
69123 Heidelberg

+49 (0)6221 1867490

Institut für Kommunikations und Prüfungsforschung gGmbH

Institut für Kommunikations und
Prüfungsforschung gGmbH
Wieblinger Weg 92A
69123 Heidelberg

Kontakt

Sie haben Fragen zu unserem Institut oder wünschen weitere Informationen zu einzelnen Projekten oder Aktivitäten?

Wir freuen uns auf Ihren Anruf oder Ihre Nachricht.

Institut für Kommunikations- und Prüfungsforschung gGmbH

Wieblinger Weg 92A
69123 Heidelberg
+49 (0)6221 186 7490
info@cares.institute

Institut für Kommunikations und Prüfungsforschung gGmbH

Institut für Kommunikations und
Prüfungsforschung gGmbH
Wieblinger Weg 92A
69123 Heidelberg

Team

Konstantin Brass
Geschäftsleitung

Bereits im Studium entwickelte Konstantin Brass die Idee, die Prüfungskultur durch Vernetzung und Ressourcenoptimierung zu verbessern. 2004 begann seine Arbeit am Kompetenzzentrum für Prüfungen in der Medizin in Heidelberg: zur Optimierung des Prüfungsworkflows etablierte er an der Medizinischen Fakultät ein Dokumentenlesesystem sowie den Einsatz computergestützter Prüfungen. Um den Austausch und die Zusammenarbeit zwischen anderen Fakultäten zu erleichtern, konzipierte und implementierte er die erste Version des ItemManagementSystems (IMS). Als technischer Leiter von UCAN entwickelte Konstantin Brass und sein wachsendes Team weitere Werkzeuge zur Prüfungsvorbereitung, -nachbereitung und -auswertung und baute das UCAN-Netzwerk auf über 60 Partner*innen aus. Seit Mitte 2016 ist er der Geschäftsführer des Instituts für Kommunikations- und Prüfungsforschung.

Lars Feistner
Technischer Leiter

Im Jahr 2008 begann Lars Feistner seine Arbeit am Kompetenzzentrum für Prüfungen in der Medizin in Heidelberg. Er übernahm sofort die Verantwortung für die serverseitige Implementierung des ItemManagementSystems (IMS) und war eine treibende Kraft für den Relaunch von IMS2. Zudem übernahm er den Betrieb aller Anwendungen und setzte dabei auf Open-Source-Lösungen. Lange Zeit war Lars Feistner der Ansprechpartner für alle UCAN-Partner*innen, wenn es darum ging, Daten in oder aus der IMS- Datenbank zu gewinnen. Heute hat er die technische Leitung von Konstantin Brass übernommen und arbeitet mit seinem Team an den nächsten Versionen der UCAN Tools.

Jörn Heid
Software-Entwicklung

Seit 2003 entwickelt Jörn Heid Prüfungssoftwares und richtet seinen Fokus dabei insbesondere auf die Ausfall- und Rechtssicherheit. Die von ihm entwickelte CAMPUS-Prüfungssoftware wird an verschiedenen Institutionen seit 2004 für computerbasierte Prüfungen produktiv genutzt.
Nachdem er sich im März 2012 dem Kompetenzzentrum für Prüfungen in der Medizin anschloss, begann er mit der Entwicklung von tabletbasierten Apps wie tOSCE, tPRESENTER, tEXAM und tORAL. Der studentische kompetenzbasierte ProgressTest komplettiert das Angebot der Prüfungssoftware für verschiedene Szenarien und Plattformen.

Winfried Kurtz
Software-Entwicklung

Seit Dezember 2006 arbeitet Winfried Kurtz als Softwareentwickler im UCAN-Team. Er entwickelte die erste Version des Examinators und erarbeitete zusammen mit seinen Kolleginnen und Kollegen die Vorarbeiten für den Examinator2. Sein Schwerpunkt liegt auf der Softwareergonomie und Benutzerfreundlichkeit des ItemManagementSystems (IMS) und damit auch auf der Front-End-Entwicklung. Seitdem die deutschen Ärztekammern die Prüfungen der medizinischen Fachangestellten mit dem IMS durchführen und sich zu einem eigenständigen Prüfungsverbund gebildet haben, betreut er diese.

Klaus Yan
Software-Entwicklung

Nach seinem Studium der Angewandten Informatik begann Klaus Yan im Januar 2013 seine Tätigkeit im UCAN-Team. Am Anfang als Entwickler eingestellt, erweiterte sich sein Tätigkeitsfeld vom reinen Programmieren um die Übernahme von technisch-administrativen Aufgaben. Sein Ziel ist es, die Entwicklungs- und Arbeitsprozesse weiter zu optimieren und einen Continuous-Integration-Workflow abzubilden. Zusammen mit seinen Kolleg*innen entwickelt er eine qualitativ hochwertige Software, um den zukünftigen technischen und funktionalen Anforderungen an die Software gerecht zu werden. Durch seine vielseitigen Interessen in den Bereichen Requirements Engineering, Datenbank-, Netzwerk- und Serveradministration sowie der Programmierung und Softwarearchitektur kann man ihn als „Allrounder“ bezeichnen.

Alejandra Pérez Garcia
Software-Entwicklung

Alejandra Pérez ist seit März 2019 am Institut für Kommunikations- und Prüfungsforschung in Heidelberg beschäftigt. Nach ihrem Studium im IT-Engineering am Instituto Tecnologico de Chihuahua II, Mexiko, programmierte sie hauptsächlich in der Scriptsprache PHP. Heute arbeitet sie mit Java und EXT-JS und bringt ihre Expertise in die Weiterentwicklung des ItemManagementSystems ein.

Eduard Laas
Technischer Support und Datenschutz

Im Juni 2013 startete Eduard Laas seine Arbeit bei UCAN. Seine primären Aufgaben sind die Annahme und Klassifizierung der eingehenden Störungsmeldungen per Telefon und E-Mail, die Erarbeitung von Workarounds für die gemeldeten Störungen sowie die Betreuung und Weiterentwicklung der Dokumentation. Darüber hinaus ist Eduard Laas der interne Datenschutzkoordinator des Instituts für Kommunikations- und Prüfungsforschung.

Kerstin Lubik
Partnerbetreuung

Kerstin Lubik ist geprüfte Managementassistentin und sammelte an der Medizinischen Fakultät Heidelberg über neun Jahre Erfahrungen bei der Prüfungsvorbereitung, -durchführung und –auswertung verschiedener Prüfungsformate (zum Beispiel Encountercards, MCQ, OSCE, MiniCEX). In dieser Zeit hat sie eine große Leidenschaft für die Implementierung und Durchführung von OSCEs entwickelt. Dieses Prüfungsformat fordert alle in dieser Prüfung beteiligten Personen auf verschiedenen Ebenen – von der Fragenerstellerin oder dem Fragesteller über das Sekretariat, den Simulationspatientinnen und -patienten bis hin zum Prüfling. Da Kerstin Lubik lange als Anwenderin des ItemManagementSystem (IMS) gearbeitet hat, weiß sie genau wo die Herausforderungen - aber auch die Chancen - liegen und kann so die Bedürfnisse und Wünsche unserer Partnerinnen und Partner sehr gut nachvollziehen. Seit August 2017 ist sie für die Partnerbetreuung zuständig.

Saskia Egarter
Forschung

Seit Februar 2019 ist Saskia Egarter als wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin am Institut für Kommunikations- und Prüfungsforschung im Bereich Forschung, wissenschaftliche Publikation, Förderanträge, Projektmanagement und Qualitätssicherung von Prüfungen zuständig. Ihre wissenschaftlichen Publikationen und internationalen Vorträge untermauern ihre Expertise und ihr großes Interesse an der Forschung. Zusätzlich steuert sie ihre Kenntnisse im Bereich des Projekt- und Qualitätsmanagements bei. In Hinblick auf ihre Tätigkeitsfelder bringt sie diese Erfahrungswerte ein, um im Kontakt auf der Basis lernziel- und kompetenzorientierter digitaler Prüfungsformate, neue curriculare Prüfungs- und Feedbackstandards zu entwickeln, die die fakultätsübergreifende und internationale Vergleichbarkeit der Ausbildung fördern.

Anna Mutschler
Forschung und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit

Als Pädagogin hegt Anna Mutschler eine Leidenschaft für Kommunikationsprozesse sowie die Entwicklung von kompetenzorientierten Lehr- und Lernprozessen. Seit August 2016 ist sie als wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin am Institut tätig und arbeitet in diversen Projekten zur ärztlichen Gesprächsführung und interprofessionellen Kommunikation und Zusammenarbeit mit. In diesem Rahmen betreut sie auch die Medtalk-Toolbox, eine Online-Plattform, in der Lehr- und Prüfungsbeispiele zur Arzt-Patient-Kommunikation sowie der interprofessionellen Zusammenarbeit zwischen Ärztinnen sowie Ärzten und Angehörigen anderer Gesundheitsberufe gesammelt und aufbereitet werden. Neben Publikationen zu diesen Themengebieten ist Anna Mutschler auch im Bereich Public Relations tätig und unterstützt ihre Kolleginnen und Kollegen in unterschiedlichen Forschungsbereichen.

Sopio Gelashvill
Koordination

Seit 2014 ist Sopio als Koordinatorin tätig. Zu ihren Aufgaben gehören unter anderem Finanzplanung, Rechnungswesen, Personalmanagement, Veranstaltungsmanagement und Organisationsentwicklung.

Christian Moses
Software-Entwicklung und Studentenlabor

Christian Moses ist gelernter Bankkaufmann mit zusätzlicher Qualifizierung zum Finanzassistent. Nach seiner Ausbildung hat er sich entschieden, dem Bankwesen den Rücken zu kehren und seinem Interesse an der Informatik nachzugehen. Seitdem ist er Student für Angewandte Informatik (B.Sc.) an der Universität Heidelberg und arbeitet als studentische Hilfskraft im hauseigenen Studentenlabor des Instituts für Prüfungs- und Kommunikationsforschung, welches seit Anfang 2019 jungen Studierenden die Möglichkeit bietet, erste Arbeitserfahrungen im Bereich der Softwareentwicklung zu sammeln. Er unterstützt das Team in der Software-Entwicklung (z.B. Examinator3, Custodian) sowie der Optimierung interner Serverüberwachung.

Daniel Frising
Software-Entwicklung und Studentenlabor

Im Januar 2019 begann Daniel Frising noch während seines Studiums der Angewandten Informatik (B.Sc.) an der Universität Heidelberg mit seiner Arbeit am Institut für Kommunikations- und Prüfungsforschung. Bereits während des Gymnasiums begann er zu programmieren und wirkte bereits bei mehreren Open Source Projekten mit. In sein Aufgabenbereich fällt hauptsächlich die Unterstützung und Entwicklung aktueller Software (z.B. Examinator3, Custodian) sowie die Visualisierung interner Serverdaten.

Adrian Danisch
Software-Entwicklung und Studentenlabor

Während seinem Studium der Angewandten Informatik an der Universität Heidelberg interessierte sich Adrian Danisch in seiner Tätigkeit als Tutor und EDV-Administrator am mathematischen Institut für die elektronische Lehre, insbesondere der digitalen Korrektur von elektronisch eingereichten Übungsaufgaben. Seit März 2019 arbeitet er bei UCAN an den Authentifizierungsinhalten am Examinator3 und am Custodian.